VLDB 2019: Call for Contributions - Demonstrations

VLDB 2019 invites submissions for demo proposals on any topic of interest, broadly defined, to the data management community. Accepted demonstration papers will appear in the PVLDB proceedings. One of the demonstrations presented at the conference will be selected to receive a Best Demo Award.

Important Dates

Demo Proposals

The proposal must describe the demonstrated system, and state the novelty and significance of the contribution to data management research, technologies, and/or its applications. The proposal should pay special attention to describing the exact demonstration scenarios for the given system. This should include how the audience will experience the demo, what kind of functionality is supported, user scenarios, interface and interaction options, etc. Proposals must be submitted in camera-ready format and limited to 4 pages, inclusive of ALL material.

Video Submissions

We specifically encourage the submission of a demonstration video (of up to 5 minutes, 50MB max. file size) together with your demonstration proposal via CMT. Both the demonstration proposal and the video will then be accessible by the reviewers. Your video should summarize your demonstration and also audio-visually highlight its most important aspects, such as the user interface, options for user interactions, the system setup, etc. The video should be submitted in MPEG/AVI/MP4 format and be playable by the common media players. Please note that you will need to first finish your demo proposal submission and then edit it to add the video as a supplementary file.


To minimize biases in the evaluation process, we use CMT's conflict management system, through which authors should flag conflicts with the Demo Program Committee members. All authors of a submission must declare conflicts on CMT prior to the submission deadline.

You have a conflict with X:

Submissions with undeclared conflicts or spurious conflicts will be DESK REJECTED. There will be NO exceptions to this rule.

Originality and Duplicate Submissions

Note that demonstration proposals must not have been published, or be under consideration for publication, at any other forum. Demonstration proposals should specifically focus on the genuine aspects of the described systems and the intended interaction with the audience; they should not be a short version of an existing conference paper (whether or not this may have been published elsewhere).

Demo Submission

Demonstration proposals must be submitted electronically, in PDF format, using CMT. When creating a new paper submission, you will be given the option to choose a track. Choose the "Demonstrations" track for your demo proposal. A respective option to upload the demonstration video will be made available.

Demo Track Chairs

Alin Deutsch, UCSD - USA
Nesime Tatbul, Intel Labs and MIT - USA

Demo Track PC Members

Nesreen Ahmed, Intel Labs - USA
Lyublena Antova, Datometry - USA
Manos Athanassoulis, Boston University - USA
Cagri Balkesen, Oracle Labs - Switzerland
Leilani Battle, University of Maryland - USA
Carsten Binnig, TU Darmstadt - Germany
Angela Bonifati, University of Lyon - France
Renata Borovica-Gajic, University of Melbourne - Australia
Vanessa Braganholo, Fluminense Federal University - Brazil
Lei Cao, MIT - USA
Alvin Cheung, UC Berkeley - USA
Laura Chiticariu, IBM Data & AI
Sudipto Das, Amazon Web Services - USA
Cagatay Demiralp, Megagon Labs - USA
Dong Deng, Rutgers University - USA
Jens Dittrich, Saarland University - Germany
Jiang Du, University of Toronto - Canada
Iman Elghandour, IT University of Copenhagen - Denmark
David Eyers, University of Otago - New Zealand
Peter Fischer, University of Augsburg - Germany
Vijay Gadepally, MIT Lincoln Laboratory - USA
Avigdor Gal, Technion - Israel
Wolfgang Gatterbauer, Northeastern University - USA
Bu─čra Gedik, Bilkent University - Turkey
Ioana Giurgiu, IBM Research - Switzerland
Boris Glavic, Illinois Tech - USA
Michael Grossniklaus, University of Konstanz - Germany
Annika Hinze, University of Waikato - New Zealand
Katja Hose, Aalborg University - Denmark
Alekh Jindal, Microsoft - USA
Pinar Karagoz, METU - Turkey
Flip Korn, Google Research - USA
Georgia Koutrika, Athena Research Center - Greece
Justin Levandoski, Amazon - USA
Feifei Li, Alibaba
Eric Lo, CUHK - Hong Kong
Qiong Luo, HKUST - Hong Kong
Alex Moga, ABB Research - Switzerland
Daniela Nicklas, University of Bamberg - Germany
Silvia Nittel, University of Maine - USA
Themis Palpanas, Paris Descartes University - France
John Paparrizos, University of Chicago - USA
Aditya Parameswaran, UIUC - USA
Peter Pietzuch, Imperial College London - UK
Karthik Ramasamy, Streamlio - USA
Alexander Rasin, DePaul University - USA
Semih Salihoglu, University of Waterloo - Canada
Nadathur Satish, Facebook - USA
Marco Serafini, UMass Amherst - USA
Kyumars Sheykh Esmaili, TomTom - Belgium
Ben Sowell, Amazon - USA
Rebecca Taft, Cockroach Labs - USA
Nan Tang, QCRI - Qatar
Richard Tibbetts, Tableau - USA
Srikanta Tirthapura, Iowa State University - USA
Kristin Tufte, Portland State University - USA
Marcos Antonio Vaz Salles, University of Copenhagen - Denmark
Matthias Weidlich, Humboldt University of Berlin - Germany
Xiangyao Yu, MIT - USA