VLDB Test of Time Award

A paper is selected from the VLDB Conference from 10 to 12 years earlier that best meets the “test of time”. In picking a winner, the committee evaluates the impact of the paper. The committee especially values impact of the paper in practice, e.g., in products and services. Impact on the academic community demonstrated through significant follow-through research by the community is also valued.

To browse ealier years' VLDB Test of Time Awards, please go here.


  • Award Winner: Yucheng Low, Joseph Gonzalez, Aapo Kyrola, Danny Bickson, Carlos Guestrin, Joseph M. Hellerstein
  • Paper Title: Distributed Graphlab: A framework for machine learning in the cloud. Proc. VLDB Endow. 5(8): 716-727 (2012)


  • Award Winner: Yizhou Sun, Jiawei Han, Xifeng Yan, Philip S. Yu, Tianyi Wu
  • Paper Title: PathSim: Meta Path-Based Top-K Similarity Search in Heterogeneous Information Networks. Proc. VLDB Endow. 4(11): 992-1003 (2011)


  • Award Winner: Thomas Neumann.
  • Paper Title: Efficiently Compiling Efficient Query Plans for Modern Hardware. Proc. VLDB Endow. 4(9): 539-550 (2011).


  • Award Winners: Sergey Melnik, Andrey Gubarev, Jing Jing Long, Geoffrey Romer, Shiva Shivakumar, Matt Tolton, and Theo Vassilakis.
  • Paper Title: Dremel: interactive analysis of web-scale datasets. Proc. VLDB Endow. 3, 1–2 (September 2010), 330–339.


  • Award Winners: Azza Abouzeid, Kamil Bajda-Pawlikowski, Daniel Abadi, Avi Silberschatz, Alexander Rasin
  • Paper Title: HadoopDB: An Architectural Hybrid of MapReduce and DBMS Technologies for Analytical Workloads. PVLDB 2(1): 922-933 (2009)
  • Award Winners: Brian F. Cooper, Raghu Ramakrishnan, Utkarsh Srivastava, Adam Silberstein, Philip Bohannon, Hans-Arno Jacobsen, Nick Puz, Daniel Weaver, Ramana Yerneni
  • Paper Title: PNUTS: Yahoo!'s hosted data serving platform. PVLDB 1(2): 1277-1288 (2008)


  • Award Winners: Michael J. Cafarella, Alon Y. Halevy, Daisy Zhe Wang, Eugene Wu, Yang Zhang
  • Paper Title: WebTables: exploring the power of tables on the web. PVLDB 1(1): 538-549 (2008)


  • Award Winners: Qin Lv, William Josephson, Zhe Wang, Moses Charikar, Kai Li
  • Paper Title: Intelligent Probing for Locality Sensitive Hashing: Multi-Probe LSH and Beyond. PVLDB 10(12): 2021-2024 (2017)


  • Award Winners: Mohamed F. Mokbel, Chi-Yin Chow, Walid G. Aref
  • Paper Title: The New Casper: Query Processing for Location Services without Compromising Privacy. VLDB 2006: 763-774


  • Award Winners: Michael Stonebraker, Daniel J. Abadi, Adam Batkin, Xuedong Chen, Mitch Cherniack, Miguel Ferreira, Edmond Lau, Amerson Lin, Samuel Madden, Elizabeth J. O'Neil, Patrick E. O'Neil, Alex Rasin, Nga Tran, Stanley B. Zdonik
  • Paper Title: C-Store: A Column-oriented DBMS. VLDB 2005: 553-564


  • Award Winners: Nilesh Dalvi, Dan Suciu
  • Paper Title: Efficient Query Evaluation on Probabilistic Databases


  • Award Winners: Gurmeet Singh Manku, Rajeev Motwani
  • Paper Title: Approximate Frequency Counts over Data Streams