# **VLDB Endowment Board of Trustees**

### Membership, Structure and Organization

The VLDB Endowment Board of Trustees has 21 members. The election procedure is documented elsewhere. The Board elects an Executive of 4 from among its members (see below). Some of the Trustees have specific responsibilities (as indicated below). All give their time freely to the management of the Endowment and to serving on special sub-committees for specific (time-limited) purposes.

The VLDB Endowment trustees are the legal guardians of its activities and charters. The trustees are elected among internationally distinguished researchers and professionals in the database field who have contributed to the objectives of the Endowment with dedication and distinction, and who are willing to commit their own time and resources. Trustees are elected for a six-year period, with one third up for election by the trustees every two years. The Endowment makes it a policy to spread the composition of the trustees across all continents. The Endowment does not have individuals as its members, nor does it have as members national computer societies. VLDB is affiliated to the International Federation for Information Processing (IFIP), and co-operates with many national computer societies.

#### **Executive President**

Gerhard Weikum

## Vice-President

Laura M. Haas

## Treasurer

Michael J. Franklin

#### Members

Amr El Abbadi Peter M. G. Apers Paolo Atzeni Philip A. Bernstein Elisa Bertino Peter Buneman Sophie Cluet Umeshwar Dayal Johann Christoph Freytag H. V. Jagadish Christian S. Jensen Renée J. Miller Shoiiro Nishio Krithi Ramamritham Raghu Ramakrishnan Hans-Jörg Schek Stanley B. Zdonik

Further information on the VLDB Endowment, its role and its activities is available on the World Wide Web at: http://www.vldb.org/

(This information is correct as of June, 2005)